The De Johnson Memorial Scholarship Fund

RILA has established a scholarship fund in memory of our beloved colleague and former President of RILA, Derryl R. "De"Johnson, who died on March 26, 2005.  De knew from an early age that she wanted to be a librarian. She was a former Director of the Marian J. Mohr Memorial Library in Johnston, RI, from 1994-2002 and a Librarian of the highest caliber. There was no stronger advocate for improving library services in RI. She fought for all types of libraries and worked tirelessly for the library community.

In 1982, De founded C.D. Research, Ltd, a for-fee research service, after having worked at the Providence Public Library for many years..  It quickly became won of the leading research companies in Rhode Island, providing harried professionals with little interest, fewer skills, and limited time to go in search information beyond what a ready-reference inquiry would collect.

While at the Mohr Library, De contributed to greatly expanding programs and services.  She left citing health reasons, having been diagnosed with breast cancer a year before.  She continued to work toward a PhD and remained an active force in the area library community as President of the Rhode Island Library Association from 2003 through 2005.

De Johnson was known by many in the community and by librarians all over Rhode Island for her creativity, energy, warmth, and humor.  She is greatly missed.

The funds raised will allow library school students from both the University of Rhode Island and Simmons College to attend a professional library conference. Click here for information about applying to receive the De Johnson Scholarship. For your convenience, donations to the fund can be made through a secure PayPal account by clicking below.

Alternately, contributions may be sent to:

Rhode Island Library Association
PO Box 6765
Providence, Rhode Island  02940

Past Winners:

  • 2014 - Emily Grace LeMay, Mount Pleasant Library, Providence Community Libraries
    Attendance to Public Library Association Annual Conference, Indianapolis, Indiana
  • 2011 - Andria Tieman, Warwick Public Library/Bryant University
    Attendance to American Library Association Annual Conference, New Orleans, Louisiana

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software